William Eggleston

June 29, 2010 at 2:40 pm 1 comment

While my lovely & talented Mom was visiting in May, we spent a day at The Art Institute of Chicago, exploring both the Matisse & the William Eggleston exhibits. I found the Matisse paintings, drawings & sculptures full of history, exuberance, life & color.  But, even weeks later, I can’t get the Eggleston photographs out of my mind.

I have always found beauty in everyday objects and people.  So does he.

His composition is second to none & his play on proportions is brilliant.

He also has a magical ability to catch amazing lighting.  I am never so lucky with my amateur candid photos.  But, I think we see beauty in most of the same things & I think that’s special.  This was my Mom’s favorite photo:

Beauty in a reflection.  Awesome!

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Chicago, Design, Photographs.

“Some Folks are Born, Made to Wave the Flag…” A Love Letter To Veterans…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. fondutv  |  June 29, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    The airplane one is definitely a favorite of mine as well!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

June 2010
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds