Archive for June 15, 2010

“Some Folks are Born, Made to Wave the Flag…”

So sang John Fogerty in one of my favorite Creedence Clearwater Revival songs, Fortunate Son.  Of course he was referring to our good ol’ red, white & blue.  And while I get a stirring of patriotism stirring in my heart every time I see the stars & stripes, the American flag is not my favorite.   Let me say that I would NEVER burn a flag unless it was severely old & weather damaged, I ALWAYS stand for the National Anthem, & I am very proud to be an American.  It’s just that other countries flags to me are so beautiful.  I get a little jealous during the Olympics or World Cup when I see some the designs these other nations are sporting on their patriotic symbols.  Let’s take a look at some of my favorites, shall we?

Wales

The Welsh flag has always been my favorite.  I love that red dragon, or as it’s known in Welsh, Y Ddraig Goch.  It’s a powerful image on the bands of green & white.

Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan, besides unwittingly inspiring a great character in Borat, also gives us this beautiful flag.  I am deeply enamored of the image of the bird flying in front of the sun, the ornate stripe on the left, & I just adore the colors of this flag.  I am thinking of using this color combination in a room someday.  I just love it!

Marshall Islands

This one, from the Marshall Islands is simple, but striking to me.  I am drawn to the widening diagonal stripe heading to the corner & the star on the opposite corner.  They chose a great blue for their flag!

Albania

Albania has a simple color combination, but a features a powerful image of a two-headed eagle in the center.

Argentina

My final favorite is Argentina.  I don’t really know why, as I am usually not on board the powder blue train.  I think it has something to do with the combination of the stripes & that sun in the middle.  I have a thing for that sun.

At any rate, I find flags inspiring, not only in color & design, but what they represent.  I like thinking of someday seeing these flags in person, flying over a building in the home country they represent.

June 15, 2010 at 4:51 pm 4 comments


Flickr Photos

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds