Archive for May 25, 2007

Feeling Crafty, Beaver?

In case you think I’m a big perv, I’m refering to a chain of hardware stores around Chicago: Crafty Beaver Home Centers. Get your minds out of the gutter! Sheesh.
In the past few years I have learned how to knit. I find it to be a relaxing and gratifying activity. Since teaching myself this skill, I have discovered a wealth of craft sites & blogs to inspire my newfound craftiness. It’s a great time to be a wannabe crafter as the craft movement is FIERCE right now. I think my current favorite crafter/artist right now, is Lisa Congdon. I mean, look at this stuff:
Lisa Congdon, The Cardinal
Lisa Congdon MiniCollage
Lisa Congdon Lymphnodes
Her work just blows me away. All of my collage attempts look like magazine-cut-out-lettered ransom notes. Lisa’s stuff is simply incredible. I used to visit her old blog, A Bird In The Hand daily, but I know the new site will have wonderful inspirations for me.
Another crafty lady is the fantastic Alicia Paulson. A Chicago girl living in the most adorable little house in Portland, I cannot get over the sheer magnitude of craftery this girl can do. The pictures on her site are to die for.
Posie Hallway
Look at how cute this hallway is! Ugh. I am so jealous. But, I appreciate Alicia’s willingess to share her home with her readers. Thanks!
Another craft site I frequent is The Black Apple. I discovered this amazing artist & crafter through Etsy, one of the greatest sites in the world! I just adore her work:
FireFlyBlog Black Apple
Last but not least is Camilla Engman. Her art is really amazing. I can’t even describe it properly, so here’s a glimpse of this wonderful artist’s work:
Sailors
Red
I know I briefly mentioned Etsy before, but I cannot stress how wonderful this site is. If you are looking for affordable artwork, jewelry, gifts, whatever; you will find it here. Please visit Etsy!
I think that’s it for crafting today. I will be back this weekend to post my favorite pop culture sites. It’s going to be great, I swear. Have a terrific Friday!

May 25, 2007 at 6:47 pm 1 comment


Flickr Photos

May 2007
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds