Inspired by the Moon & Stars…

May 1, 2008 at 3:23 pm 4 comments

(Photo from Seed Savers via The New York Times.)

Watermelons!  Yesterday, I became completely transfixed by this photo of the Moon & Stars watermelon accompanying this interesting article in the NY Times Dining & Wine Section.  I haven’t been this fascinated by a fruit since my summer 2006 Prickly Pear cactus obsession:

(Photo via Gateway to Sedona)

Oh, how I love me some Prickly Pear!  I think it’s the deep pink of both the pears & within the core of the melon that I find so very pretty.  Hopefully, this beauty will last you through the weekend.  I’ll be back next week.  Cheers!

Entry filed under: Blogs & Blogging, Food, Photographs, Random. Tags: , .

Introducing…OliveLoaf Design My New Love

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. oliveloafdesign  |  May 1, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    i’ve never even seen one of those before. they ARE facinating! i want one now! (and i heart prickly pear too! i once brought a ton back from my dad’s place in the sedona area & sold them to the deli with a fruit stand under my nyc apartment! no joke!)

    Reply
  • 2. MsD  |  May 2, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Hi Gwen,

    What a beautiful post. I, too, love prickly pear…it is the state plant of texas, and I sent one to David for his birthday, a month after our initial love affair in Austin. Remember?

    It ended up giving him dozens of tiny splinters in the palms of his hand. Not so good. Alas, we left the cactus in Chicago upon our move. I hear she is doing well and can be seen at the Grind coffee shop in the square.

    Can’t wait to try this melon…yum!

    Reply
  • 3. Felicia  |  May 5, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Hum, I’m digging them 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Angelia Sparrow  |  April 13, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Hi, I found this while hunting pictures of the watermelon. Apologies for intruding.

    I ate these as a kid. An old man would bring them to the farmer’s market on the square in Clinton Mo where my grandparents lived. We always bought one. They were SO good.

    I’m tickled to be able to grow my own.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Zeeland Condensed

It was cold, but worth it . . .

Red Apple Rotterdam

More Photos
May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


