Dressing Room Decor

March 20, 2008 at 4:12 pm 1 comment

I know I said I wouldn’t be posting any more this week, but since I learned that legendary stage & screen actor, Paul Scofield, died on Wednesday; and I found this interesting article in the New York Times, I decided I couldn’t resist. 

I’ve always loved theatres.  When I acted in college and high school my favorite moments rarely happened onstage, they happened backstage, often in the dressing rooms.  There is something special about putting on make-up in front of a mirror, making your character come to life.  I adored putting on the various costumes and seeing someone new when I looked in the mirror.  I even love the smells.  The make-up, the powders, the mustiness of the costumes, even the hair spray.  It was all part of the magic.  So, today when I read the article about Broadway actors & how they designed their dressing rooms, I was moved.  I loved seeing Andrea Martin’s dressing room for Frau Blucher in Young Frankenstein:

Andrea Martin Dressing Room-NYTimes Tony Cenicola

(Photo by Tony Cenicola, New York Times)                         

And Sherie Rene Scott’s dressing room for Ursula in The Little Mermaid:

Sherie Rene Scott Dressing Room-NYTimes Tony Cenicola

(photo by Tony Cenicola, New York Times)

If you get a chance, & you love theatre as much as I do, read the article.  There’s also a slide show & a wonderful picture of the amazing Harvey Fierstien‘s dressing room.  So much fun.  Anyhoo, this is it for me this week.  Have a hoppy weekend. (Get it?  Because of Easter I said hoppy!) 

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Blogs & Blogging, Design, Memoriam, Pop Cultures, Theatre.

Arthur C. Clarke 1917-2008 Jenn Ski

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. oliveloafdesign  |  March 26, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    i saw that article. it was fun. that could be a whole blog to itself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

To See the Light

Spice Finch in the clown car bush Madrona Marsh Torrance 320

Chipped Glass - HMM..x

More Photos
March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


