The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

February 26, 2008 at 5:38 pm Leave a comment

For those of you who don’t know, Sunday night was a big night for me.  Usually, if I’m asked what my favorite TV show is, I might try and play it cool and say Six Feet Under, The Wire, The Office, or Arrested Development.  Or, I might even own up to my Buffy the Vampire Slayer, America’s Next Top Model, The Hills or Real World/Road Rules Challenge guilty pleasures.  But in my heart of hearts, my favorite TV show has always been the Academy Awards.  I can remember meticulously writing down the winners ever since my third grade year.  It was always one of the rare school nights we were allowed to stay up late.  I loved the speeches, the funny unexpected moments, the film clips & seeing the glamourous stars in all their glory.  One of my very favorite parts of the show has always been the clothes.  So, I thought I would do a little rundown of my favorite and not-so-favorite fashions from Sunday’s show.  (Please note: I was unable to source these photographs, but most of them are AP photos from the ABC website.  If you are a photographer who sees your photo, please send me an email via the contact page & I will source your photo.  Please don’t hate me!)

All in all, it was a pretty good night.  One dress stood out to me as being very special:

Heidi Klum-Oscars

I love Heidi Klum in this dress.  I love the red (obviously a big theme for the night) & I love the drama of the neckline.  If you are a size nothing, and drink obnoxious amounts of Diet Coke, this dress will be the prize in the Diet Coke Women’s Heart Health campaign. 

Heidi Klum

So pretty.  As for men, one of my favorites was this guy:

Javier Bardem

First of all, can we just talk again about how excited I was when Javier Bardem one?  I was whoopin’ & hollerin’ up a storm.  And then when the Coen’s won Best Director & No Country For Old Men took the Best Picture, I couldn’t have been happier.  Okay, back to his suit:

Javier Bardem-80th Annual Academy Awards

I adore the longer jacket with the shorter lapel.  I don’t know what it is, but I love it.  My husband & I both agreed that it was a very masculine look & I thought it was dead sexy. 

(More of my picks after the jump.)

I pretty much have decided that I worship Helen Mirren:

Helen Mirren

I heard some people didn’t like the sleeves, but I thought the whole thing was gorgeous.  I want to grow up to be just like her!  Also gorgeous:

Jessica Alba

If there was a guarantee that I would look as hot as Jessica Alba if I got pregnant & not like a beached beluga whale, I would be knocked up CONSTANTLY.  I love the purple against the natural healthy glow of her amazing skin.  NOT FAIR.

Another look I loved that didn’t get the kudos from the fashion press:

Amy Adams

I love the simplicity of the dress.  I love the green.  I love the gold accessories.  I just love Amy Adams.  I enjoyed her so much in Junebug & her Oscar performance was adorable.  Love her.  Also loving my man Viggo Mortensen:

Viggo Mortensen

Even with the beard, he’s so HOT! 

Here is one of my least favorite looks (which completely caused me to spout off a Go Fug Yourself-inspired rant!):

Daniel Day Lewis & Rebecca Miller

Dear Rebecca Miller (AKA Ms. Day Lewis),

I know you are a very talented woman.  I know that you have wrote and directed two critically acclaimed films.  That’s awesome.  What’s not awesome however, is your batshit crazy outfit.  I don’t understand the messy mash-up of materials.  Brocade, velvet, red ribbon caps on awful sleeves?  Not to mention whatever is attacking your chest?  All of it is AWFUL.  I’m really sorry, because you look like you have stunning red curls and beautiful features.  I just wish you had more respect for yourself & the gorgeous man on your arm that featured quite heavily in my teenage fantasies after multiple viewings of Last of the Mohican’s.  You guys could be a knockout Hollywood couple.  Like these two:

Josh Brolin & Diane Lane

I don’t want to make you feel bad Ms. Miller.  I just want to inspire you to do better.  Remember this is coming from a place of love.

Thanks,

Gwen

(P.S.  Please have your husband buy shoes that match his outfit.  Thanks!)

(P.P.S.  That’s good advice for you too.)

That ends my Oscar fashion wrap-up.  I hope you all enjoyed.

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Blogs & Blogging, Cinema, Fashion!, Pop Cultures, Rants, TV.

Darn! Let The Sunshine In…PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Green

The Classic...

red awakening

More Photos
February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Feeds


