Craving Coens

December 13, 2007 at 8:02 pm 5 comments

Specifically, the fantastic brothers that have this guy seared into my dreams:

Javier Bardem-No Country For Old Men

It has been almost two weeks since I watched No Country For Old Men, and I still can’t stop thinking about it.  I left the theatre with so many images haunting me:

Javier Bardem2-No Country For Old Men

This is Javier Bardem as Anton Chigurh, hands down one of the best villians I have ever seen in a movie.  He is fantastic, but so are Tommy Lee Jones & Josh Brolin.

No Country For Old Men Image

I love the vastness of the dry Texas land and the violent storm beginning on the horizon.  This movie’s landscapes really made me homesick for Wyoming.  Anyway, I now have a new favorite Coen Brothers  film, which is quite a feat.  I love so many of their movies, from Fargo to the Big Lebowski, Raising Arizona to Blood Simple.  With this film, they have mastered their craft and made something that will provide chills, thrills and philosophical introspection for generations to come.  I guess it is apparent that I highly recommend No Country For Old Men.  If you’ve seen it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Cinema, Pop Cultures, Rants, Writers + Writing.

I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas…TREE! More Pare Umbrellas

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Felicia  |  December 13, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    I better add that one to the list to see this season. The Golden Compass and Sweeney Todd are right up there too!

    Reply
  • 2. msDarby  |  December 16, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Gwendolyn,

    So strange I would read this today. Yesterday, David and I went to see this fricking fantastic film.

    At first, I thought it looked like Wyoming…thought of you.

    Then this morning, I woke up and the first thing I was thinking of was this film, and I was thinking about it in visual form. Truly impressive, the Coen Brothers are.

    Also, not sure if you have been experiencing the fervent onslaught of West Texas lately. From Marfa to surrounding West Texas towns, this is the infamous new Hollywood. And New York’s art world. Combined. Kinda cool, kinda scary.

    Anyway, I agree that this film is the Coen’s refining their craft. Awesome.

    Reply
  • 3. msDarby  |  December 16, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Also weird…

    As I was commenting on your post, David made this post.

    Great minds all around, huh?

    Reply
  • 4. Casey  |  December 17, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Readin from the book of DUH! I loved this film as well. I have to see it again. Way too much to soak up in one viewing.

    Reply
  • 5. bohemiangirl  |  December 20, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    I’ve been wanting to see this film for awhile now. I think you just convinced me to get my ass to the theater.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Stargate Pt.2

Tokyo

Crossbill

More Photos
December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


