Rare Device

December 6, 2007 at 8:32 pm Leave a comment

I really wish that Rare Device would either open up a store in Chicago, or that I could afford to visit both locations at least once a year.  But, since either option is unlikely, I will have to make do with the wonderful online shop!  I was really excited to hear that Rena Tom was partnering with Lisa Congdon to open the San Francisco store this year, but I would be as a happy as a kid in a candy store at the Brooklyn location as well.  That’s more than enough chatter; let’s get to the goods!

AmyRuppelEncausticPrint-RareDevice

One of the wonderful things about Rare Device, is the sheer diversity of products and artists featured.  This gorgeous Amy Ruppel painting is TO DIE FOR!  It would go perfectly with the owl lamp I’ve been lusting after!  Actually, all of her paintings are amazing.  Also amazing is the mural she painted for the San Francisco location:

AmyRuppelMuralRareDevice-LisaCongdon

(Photo by Lisa Congdon from her blog!) 

I absolutely adore that the fire alarm became a part of the mural. 

(Please jump for more Rare Device beauties!)

I’m sure you’ve heard of Alyssa Ettinger.  If not, there’s a void in your life!

AlyssaEttingerEspressoCups-RareDevice

AlyssaEttingerKnitBowl-RareDevice

These pieces are the most beautiful ceramics I have seen in a very long time.  I can’t tell you how much I love that knit bowl. 

ThreeSheetsToTheWindPillow-RareDevice

This pillow from Three Sheets to the Wind would be a perfect pop of color on a sofa, chair or couch.  I met the fabulous Jenny Sauer this summer at Renegade.  Her booth was fantastic!

XeniaCeramicTiles-RareDevice

I love these ceramic tiles by Xenia Taler.  And I love this letterpress print:

OldSchoolStationeryLetterpress-RareDevice

The detail in this piece by Old School Stationers is stunning.  I have a feeling I will be visiting their site often.  Actually, all the designers featured at Rare Device are wonderful and can provide hours of browsing fun.  I’m off to cast on a new scarf.  I’ll be back next week.  Cheers!

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Blogs & Blogging, Craft + Crafting, Design, Great Gift Ideas, Shop 'til Ya Drop.

The Festival Of Lights A Whimsical Holiday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


