It’s Buffy Baby!

August 4, 2007 at 8:44 am 4 comments

I’ve noticed that I’ve been neglecting my poor Big Daddy Seashell shamelessly lately. So, to make it up to you, I give you an all Buffy post. Perfectly timed as my husband & I will be attending this Buffy nerdfest today! Lately, I’ve been thinking about why this show had such an impact on my life.
Buffy
Why did this particular girl capture my spirit & imagination, especially three years after the series ended (keeping in mind that I made merciless fun of anybody who did watch the show while it was on the air)? What is it about this show & why now? I guess part of it is because, deep down inside, I think every girl wants to kick some ass. Buffy was great for that! I’ve also always loved vampires. When I was a very little girl (four or five) I watched the 1931 Boris Karloff Dracula.
Boris Karloff-Dracula
I know my parents kept asking me if I was okay, was it too scary, was I scared, etc. I kept saying I was fine. But, when I went to bed that night, I remember painstakingly coloring & cutting out a crucifix to put above my bed. Just in case. In eighth grade, I read Steven King’s Salem’s Lot, & in college read the Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles. There is something magical in the vampire myths & legends to begin with. The fact that they live forever, even in a half-life, is mystical. Plus, it’s really sexy when they bite your neck. Speaking of sexy:
Spike & Buffy
Everyone on this show was so gosh darn hot. I LOVED Spike. Angel?
Buffy & Angel
He was okay. A little whiney for me, but okay. To get back to my original question, I guess I really loved the idea of being part of a team of misfits:
Season3 Scoobies
Incredibly hot misfits, but misfits nonetheless. I love that they spend long hours researching through actual BOOKS with the somewhat hunky librarian. I love that the original group was composed of mostly nerds & outcasts. I love that I felt like I could fit right in:
Scoobies
I love the writing & the supreme camp factor. I love the magical, mystical, & mythical aspect of it all. In the end though, I mostly just love to see women kick some major ass! Have a fantastic weekend.

Entry filed under: Buffy.

Bell Bottom Blues True Love & False Idols

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. M  |  August 4, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    I like Buffy because she’s strong.

    Reply
  • 2. bohemiangirl  |  August 5, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Cheers to kicking ass! I think we all have it in us, deep down but it’s good to have an inspiring figure to remind us.

    Reply
  • 3. Harrington  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    I wasn’t going to say any thing, but I cannot stop myself on this one…
    Boris Karloff was never in the 1931 version of “Dracula”, that was Bela Lugosi… But Boris Karloff did play the Monster in the 1931 version of “Frankenstein”…

    Reply
  • 4. 14k  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:54 am

    That’s not Boris Karloff in the vintage Dracula pic, that’s Bela Legosi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

" Multicolor "

La Reine des iles Lofoten

Great Gray Owl / Chouette Lapone / Strix nebulosa

More Photos
August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


