Enough Already!!!!!

June 23, 2007 at 6:58 am 1 comment

Yes, I am listening to the screaming outcry to name my top 5 desert island films! I am so over the tremendous outpour from everyone that I am finally doing it. God. Sorry it took so long. For crying out loud.
Number One:
Waiting For Guffman
Was there any question? Hands down, one of the best movies about small town theatre ever made. EVER. Favorite scenes? ALL OF THEM. Every moment provides introspection, pathos & most of all, laughter. Best mocumentery ever.
Number Two:
Star Wars
This is the first film I remember. I remember my shoes sticking to the floor in the theatre, I remember the ginormous canons firing at Luke’s ship as he attacked the Death Star, & I remember my parents being so blown away by this cinematic experience. I’ve never forgotten how films can excite & move people.
Number Three:
Raiders of the Lost Ark
Yes, Harrison Ford is featured twice on this list. He will probably come up again. This movie is pure joy. Action, adventure, great story telling & a wonderful cast of characters to boot. Who can be more villainous than the Nazi’s? I am asking you!!!
Number Four:
Lawrence of Arabia
There is an absolute majesty to this film. An air of wonder, hardship & pure determination that makes this an absolute classic. Plus, cinematically? Forget about it! There is nothing like experiencing this movie for the first time. The acting, the sets, the costumes; I always almost feel like I can smell the desert. This is a beautiful & tremendous film.
Number 5:
Blade Runner
My favorite Sci-Fi movie of all time. I know, I listed Star Wars first, but THIS is the one. The future in this film seems almost too realistic. When I see photos of modern day Tokyo, I immediately think of this brilliant film. The sets are just too out of hand. I adore the scene with Rutger Hauer in the rain. Absolute brilliance.
Finally, you will be able to sleep at night. I know this issue has been tormenting all of you. I’m glad to put the question to rest.

Entry filed under: Cinema.

Big Girls ARE Beautiful Congratulations Casey Bramlet!!!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Felicia  |  June 26, 2007 at 11:52 am

    Don’t know why but I’ve never seen Waiting for Guffman even though I’ve heard it referred to about a million times. Perhaps its time for a look 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

" Multicolor "

La Reine des iles Lofoten

Great Gray Owl / Chouette Lapone / Strix nebulosa

More Photos
June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


