Dinner & A Movie

June 20, 2007 at 6:01 pm 2 comments

Or, movies that make me want dinner! Serious Eats just posted that Variety’s food blog, The Knife, was composing a list of films that revolve around food. I thought this was interesting, as I had decided to do a food film post after watching one of my favorites this weekend.
Moonstruck
Not only is Moonstruck a fantastic film, but it always makes me hungry. There’s a wonderful shot of Olympia Dukakis making breakfast. We see some red peppers in a skillet next to a slice of crusty bread with a hole in the center. She cracks an egg into the hole & lets it cook away. The bread & egg is slid onto a plate and the peppers are put on top. Perfection. I also love that the Castorini family drops a sugar cube into their champagne. I’ve been meaning to try this forever & keep forgetting. If I ever do remember, I will let you know how it goes.
Tom Jones
Based on the Henry Fielding novel of the same name, Tom Jones isn’t a food film. However, it does have one of the greatest dinner scenes of all time. When Tom is seated across from Mrs. Waters at a roadside inn, their dinner becomes one of the most elaborate and hilarious seductions. To see these two lustily tearing at chicken, lobster & oysters is really a joy.
Defending Your Life
This Albert Brooks gem is one of my favorite movies. For those who don’t know the premise, Daniel Miller dies by getting hit by a bus & finds himself in Judgment City. There he has to literally defend his life and prove that he’s conquered his fears. You might be wondering what Defending Your Life has to do with food. Well, while staying in Judgment City, you can eat whatever you want without gaining a single pound (this is my dream). The portions are huge, and the food is fantastic. There are so many great scenes that revolve around this aspect of the film. My favorite is the waiter who tells Daniel Miller, “You like pie? Well, I’m going to bring you nine pies!” It cracks me up every time & never fails to make me want a snack.
There are so many others, Eat Drink Man Woman, Big Night, Mystic Pizza, Fatso, and Like Water for Chocolate. But, I thought I’d finish this post with two of my favorite gangster films:
The Godfather
The Godfather has a great food moment when Clemenza is teaching Michael how to make a great red sauce for pasta. There’s something very special about this scene to me. It accentuates the humanity within the gangsters. Take my favorite scene in another great gangster flick, Goodfellas. Who can forget Paulie hunched over a clove of garlic, slowly & carefully cutting achingly thin slices with a razorblade while in prison? Does it get any better than that? There are a lot of great food scenes in that movie:
Goodfellas
I think it’s interesting that food can make these brutish guys seem lovable and caring. Plus, it always makes me crave a good red sauce pasta, crusty garlic bread & a nice bottle of Chianti.
What are some of your favorite food films?

Entry filed under: Cinema, Food.

An Afternoon With Etsy Big Girls ARE Beautiful

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Felicia  |  June 21, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Well you’ve named some of my favorites there. I haven’t thought about Eat Drink, Man Woman in quite a while. And Big Night was such a bittersweet wonderful story! Who could forget Julia Roberts’s first movie? Ummm, I want a pizza šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Casey  |  June 21, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Great post! Really interesting point about the scene in goodfellas. There’s also the scene when they are in jail making dinner. I think that has a similar effect on my opinion of the characters. Ahh, food!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

To See the Light

Spice Finch in the clown car bush Madrona Marsh Torrance 320

Chipped Glass - HMM..x

More Photos
June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


