The Pride & Prejudice of Children of Men

June 4, 2007 at 6:44 pm 26 comments

Yesterday was a strange day. After posting about football & eating our pulled pork, we popped in the Children of Men dvd that Chris May lent us weeks ago.
Children of Men
I had wanted to see this film for a long time as I love director Alfonso Cuarón’s work. I think he directed one of the better Harry Potter movies (Prisoner of Azkaban) & I adore Y tu mamá también. That the gorgeous Clive Owen was in Children of Men, didn’t hurt either. I did really enjoy this movie in the end, but I found myself very upset by it. Maybe it’s because the violence is so raw and realistic, or the future depicted in the film is so bleak. I felt really uncomfortable after watching it & we ended up having to watch a few Futurama episodes afterwards to see a different view of tomorrow. Lately, I find myself getting upset & paranoid about what the future holds for our world if I think too much on political or global issues. This movie definitely set me on that path, but the acting was superb & the cinematography was incredible. It’s a great film.
The other weird thing is that I began yesterday in early 19th century England with Mr. Darcy & Miss Elizabeth Bennet thanks to my in-laws, Jill & Matt. They told me I would love the BBC’s Pride and Prejudice & loaned it to me. They were right. Look at how cute Darcy & Lizzie are together:
Darcy & Lizzie
I have a little obsession with period films & literature. Also design, architecture, & fashions. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t talk like I stepped out of an E.M. Forster novel or anything. But, I do sometimes wish that I could go back in time and roam a beautiful English garden in a fresh, printed, empire waisted muslin dress. Just like any of these lovely gowns:
Bennet Sisters
I guess that is a big reason that Children of Men affected me so much. I began yesterday in a mood created by Jane Austen and finished it in a future funk. In any case I strongly recommend either of the films I watched. Also, the 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightly is wonderful. I love Colin Firth but I have a huge crush on this Mr. Darcy:
Matthew Macfadyen as Mr. Darcy
I would however, suggest not watching them all on the same day. It’s very confusing stuff.

Entry filed under: Cinema, Writers + Writing.

Throwback to Football Sundays More About the CDF

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  November 23, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    I agree about the Mr. Darcy of the 2005 movie. I loved the casting infinitely more than the 1995 BBC miniseries. The only complaint I had with the 2005 film is that they galloped through the story at such speed that they lost some of the integrity of the book. They could have added 30 or 40 minutes and had a much better-told story. I also was disappointed that Lizzie and Darcy didn’t kiss at the end!

    Reply
  • 2. natalia  |  November 26, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I love jane austen’s books I think the same that Kitie. 2005 film is too short. I read this book and see the film of BBC. But my foavorite book of Jane austen is ‘Persuasion’.

    Reply
    • 3. Meruyert  |  July 7, 2009 at 7:08 am

      Hi Natalia! I just want to say that I agree with you. Yesterday, I took this film from meloman to see it, and really, this film is better than previous one. However, the end of the film was not so perfect. I thought that they kiss each other, but they didn’t.

      Reply
  • 4. mrsriggs  |  January 14, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    They did kiss at the very end. The more I watched the 2005 version the more I appreciate the subtlies in the movie.

    Reply
  • 5. JO  |  May 16, 2008 at 1:38 am

    if they kiss or not depends on what version you have. In the dvd you have like an alternate ending where they kiss. Love mr darcy.

    Reply
  • 6. Joy  |  June 21, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Mr. Darcy and Lizzy did kiss at the end of the 2005 film.

    Reply
  • 7. Jeanie  |  July 2, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Katie must have seen the Euro version….it ends after Donald Sutherland/Mr. Bennet announces that he’s “quite at his leisure..”

    I can’t see the 2005 Matthew MacFadyen version too many times…….

    Reply
  • 8. Sharane  |  October 24, 2008 at 12:38 am

    So happy that I’m not alone in thinking that THIS Mr. Darcy (Matthew Macfadyen) is just brilliant. I love him so… it’s hard to convey my true sentiments towards the handsome man. So I’ll just say I prefer him any day over Firth’s Darcy, and pretty much any other man at this point.

    Reply
  • 9. Ayjamal  |  November 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I love,love and love mr darcy 😀

    Reply
  • 10. Quinn  |  February 1, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Matthew’s Mr. Darcy made me melt. 8D

    Reply
  • 11. me  |  February 3, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I think Mr.Darcy(Matthew Macfadyen)2005,would be the most realistic and the most ‘the one’ of all who have played the role in the past. It is true thou, that a kiss at the end of the movie would have satisfied us all,and made us feel so good about the hole thing.I do wander how much likeness is there between Mr.Darcy and Mr.Macfadyen himself in qualities and personalities.It would be very inspiring if there are still such men.

    Reply
  • 12. sam  |  February 9, 2009 at 3:07 am

    but mr darcy and lizzy did kiss in the end!

    Reply
  • 13. sam  |  February 9, 2009 at 3:09 am

    okay and thats all fine and dandy that u ppl are gaga over mr darcy as mr macfadyen but thats just not the way he is supposed to be. he was an emo darcy. way too much emotion. colin firth was much better

    Reply
  • 14. Dija  |  March 16, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Oh I am soooo in love with the 2005 Mr. Darcy. When I read the book thats exactly how I pictured him to be. Mathew MacFayden and Keira did such an awesome job. But I do agree with the comment above that it was a bit too fast for my liking. I wanted more scenes and more of Mr. Darcy 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. KWarren  |  April 1, 2009 at 1:46 am

    Love the book, love (most) film interpretations. But Matthew MacFadyen is by far the best Mr. Darcy. Of course I’ve had a major crush on him ever since I first saw him in Enigma several yrs ago. And he had extreme makeup in that film! It’s the eyes. And the voice, And . . . Oh alllright, the whole package. Lucky Keeley Hawes!

    Reply
  • 16. K Warren  |  April 1, 2009 at 3:03 am

    I am a big Jane Austen fan and love (most) adaptations of her novels. Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr. Darcy is the best interpretation I’ve seen, with a kudos to Colin Firth as well. But Matthew. . . I’ve had a serious thing for him since I first saw him in ‘Enigma’ several yrs ago. And he was in extreme makeup in that film! It’s the eyes. And the voice. Oh, all right. It’s the entire package. Lucky Keeley Hawes!

    Reply
  • 17. Lily Smith  |  May 11, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    When 2005 Mr.Darcy walks through that field in the early misty morning, he had me bewitched body and soul, I love, I love, I love you Mr.Darcy and cannot bear to be apart from you one more day!

    Reply
  • 18. rach  |  June 12, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Mr darcy(matthew macfadden) is ssoooooooooooo handsome. i want a guy like that. Everyone is going gaga over edward cullen(robert pattinson) while i am still stuck on my beautiful mr darcy! Robert isnt even hot anyway. i think the 2005 movie is too short and i wish they had the wedding in it!!!!!

    Reply
  • 19. Amanda  |  June 16, 2009 at 5:30 am

    I am in love with pride and prejudice for many reasons. My biggest is that the time period is amazing and I have always wished that we lived like that still today. A simple and happy life were manners and image mattered. Everyone talked so suffisticated. Ever since the first time I watch this movie I fell in love with everything about it.

    Reply
  • 20. genelladegrey  |  August 4, 2009 at 12:04 am

    Colin FIrth über alles

    🙂

    Reply
  • 21. Kat  |  August 16, 2009 at 4:20 am

    I’m going to have to agree with everyone here. Macfadyen did an excellent job as Mr. Darcy. And yes, he is not only VERY good-looking in the movie, he was also very lovable and adorable :). Haha. He was pretty funny sometimes too.
    “Are you laughing at me?”
    “No…”
    “Are you REJECTING me?”

    hmm. Love Mr. Darcy.

    Reply
  • 22. K Warren  |  August 16, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    @ Rach- I didn’t think Robert Pattinson was cute even as Cedric Diggory in “Goblet of Fire.” I guess it’s a matter of taste. And I must say the ladies on this board have EXCELLENT taste.

    @ Lily – the walk across the meadow is one of my favorite scenes. He is just a delight to watch.

    @ Kat – “Forgive me. . . Madame. . . for taking up so much of your time.”

    I had to watch P & P again last night – I needed a Matthew fix! He is very good in “Frost/Nixon” and “Death at a Funeral” is a laugh riot! Although my fave Matthew film will always be “Enigma” – and he’s only in it for maybe 10 minutes!

    Have a lovely week ladies!

    Reply
  • 23. the giirl that loves matthew macf.  |  November 2, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I think I’ve seen the 2005 version like a hundred times.
    I just have to say that it’s way better than the bbc version which is too long and you get tired pretty fast..
    Although I think that they should have filled out the end from the 2005..because it ends very hasty.
    Also i wanna say that I loveeed matthew as mr.darcy!!!

    Reply
  • 24. delia  |  November 24, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Que bella historia, de esas veces q tengo tiempo de ver la tele y me encanto. A veces me concentro y quisiera estar detro de la trama. Involuntariamente te enamoras del sr Darcy y quisieras haber nacido en esa epoca pero con el criterio de ahora. Definitivamente me enamore de esta historia.

    Reply
  • 25. daaai ♥  |  February 27, 2010 at 3:31 am

    And I love, I love, I love You. ♥

    Reply
  • 26. Maureen Curcio  |  May 11, 2010 at 12:35 am

    There are very few men who truly do it for me…. Mathew McFadyen’s Mr. Darcy… definately does! Gorgeous, sexy, and soulful… the way he looks at Lizzie melts me…. where’s a man like this??? umhmmm…. love him….!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


