Design is my Density

May 24, 2007 at 7:30 pm 3 comments

Remember when you thought people who loved design looked like this:
Designing Women
No more! No more Texas-Big-Hair or shoulder pads. Only hip kicks and slick hoodies for us, yes sir. The only thing modern design might have in common with its southern-belle-debutante ancestry, is the ambiguously gay male friend. All kidding aside, it is truly an amazing time to be a design geek. There is an explosion of good design on the web. So much it was almost excrutiating to narrow my post down to just a few design blogs. But I did manage to do so, and the first is a doozy.
Design*Sponge is hands down the best design site on the web. You can spend literally hours on her site, as I just did researching this post. Of course I visit daily, and am always blown away by the great new designers she spotlights, a brilliant new artist, or a wonderful new product she raves about. In fact, it was because of her Pare Umbrella post that I found my beauty. It is no longer available on their site, (lucky me) but I did find this one that I love:
Pare Umbrella
Doesn’t this just make you yearn for a downpour? Since I actually got to meet the adorable Grace Bonney last year when she was in Chi-town for the ISDA conference, I feel a little better about thinking she’s a friend. Thanks for all your hard work, Ms. Sponge. You are a true inspiration to me!
It’s because of Design*Sponge that I found Oh Joy!, a lovely blog which merits daily visits. Oh Joy! is a great showcase for artwork, housewares, fashion, papergoods and so much more. Joy Deangdeelert Cho’s current stationery line is very beautiful:
Nantaka Joy Card
You can find out more information about her company here.
Print & Pattern is not only a terrific blog, but a great display of one of my obsessions, patterns. For some reason, I have always looked for pattern in everything. I love studying woodgrains, the little bubbles & flaws on a painted wall, even cream when first poured in coffee. And I don’t even take my coffee with cream! The sheer volume of information on this site is so inspiring whether looking for stationery, fabric, wallpaper, even ceramics. This girl will find it all for you. Recently I fell in love with this from Imagination Project:Imagination Project
Another inspiring design site, Decor8, is relatively new to me, but I am loving it. There is so much wonderful stuff here. Holly Becker literally sifts through all things design; magazines, catalogues, & trade shows. The strongest contenders get posted about. There is even a city-by-city guide of design destinations. Decor8 is truly incredible.
So many other design spots inspire me: Apartment Therapy, Josh Spear, Modish, NotCot and I will add them to my blogroll. I just don’t want to bore you with any more of my design geekiness today. I do want to show you one more thing:
Remarque Paperworks
This gorgeous wedding invitation is from my dear friend Meredith’s company, Remarque Paperworks. It is a great source for customized invitations & announcements, and I see that they are hard at work at a line of greeting cards. I can’t wait!
I hope this wasn’t too boring for you & I hope you find something that inspires you. Have a great day!

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Blogs & Blogging, Design.

Food & Foodies Feeling Crafty, Beaver?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monica  |  May 30, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    I met you last Friday at Rose’s bar. I really love this blog! I have always been in love with paper, but I think it is not so much the paper as it is the patterns on the paper. Every time I walk by a paper store, I have to go in. The rest of the day all i think about is patterns, and how awesome they would look on my wall, or on other things. *sigh*

    You have a great eye for design and patterns. Amazing, really.

    Reply
  • […] some cute brollies at Umbrellas.Com: And of course, the rainbow: I have mentioned Pare Umbrellas before, but I can’t rave enough about this company: The Pare umbrellas are such fantastic, high […]

    Reply
  • 3. My Christmas Wish « Big Daddy Seashell  |  December 19, 2007 at 12:08 am

    […] 19, 2007 My very first design post featured a beautiful umbrella from Pare Umbrella in Seattle.  In that post, I mentioned that I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

To See the Light

Spice Finch in the clown car bush Madrona Marsh Torrance 320

Chipped Glass - HMM..x

More Photos
May 2007
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


