Food & Foodies

May 23, 2007 at 10:17 pm 3 comments

Julia Child
I have been a foodie from pretty much day one. I can clearly remember my one of my first culinary disasters (corn bread baked in a cast iron skillet that I forgot to grease properly). I also remember tackling a dinner party for my friends one summer between 7th & 8th grades. Although the food has gotten a little better & I might not make my guests come up with dance routines to Salt-N-Pepa’s “Push It”, I still love giving dinner parties. I know I got this from my parents, who would throw fabulous dinner parties with almost no money and have a ton of fun doing it. We usually had a couple issues of “Gourmet” magazine laying around the house and watched many cooking shows as a family. Of course there was the master, and one of my personal heroes, Julia Child. She was the source of inspiration for the very first blog I read religiously, The Julie/Julia Project. If you aren’t familiar with it, Julie Powell decided to try and cook all the recipes in Julia Child’s masterpiece, “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in one year and blog about it. Although Julie is no longer posting to it, I still enjoy reading through the archives if I’ve had a bad day or a big disaster in the kitchen. Usually, it’s both. Her current blog documents the success that sprung from the original blog and is a good showcase for her great writing and wonderful sense of humor. You can also check out her book, Julie & Julia, which takes some highlights from the original project. I will warn you that there aren’t near as many f-bombs or vodka gimlets in the book as there are in the original blog. Take of that what you will.

Humor and food writing go together like a crisp, dry Sauvignon Blanc and a dish of Spicy Basil Leaves with Chicken (preferably from Spoon Thai in Chicago which has the best). One of the funniest food blogs (or flogs, if you prefer) out there currently is The Amateur Gourmet. Adam Roberts is a perfect example of someone I think is a friend, even though we’ve never met & the only contact we’ve had is through my comments on his site. We have a very similar sense of humor, willingness to try anything in the kitchen and a slight penchant for The View. Almost every visit will provide laughter, a recipe to try and always a healthy dose of inspiration. I strongly encourge everyone to check it out. The AG is also writing for one of my other favorite food sites, Serious Eats. This is a great reference for any foodie. I love the Question of the Day and the Talk features. In fact, I posted a question about finding recipes for my beautiful new Le Creuset and got some great responses. Here’s a picture so you can lust over my gorgeous dutch oven: My Beautiful Le Creuset

Speaking of culinary products, the last flog (food blog, remember?) I’ll mention is Kitchen Contraptions. This is the place for anything from state-of-the-art coffee makers to whimsical knife blocks, to clever utensils, gadgets, and gizmos. I have gotten some great gift ideas and tons of items for my exploding-at-the-seams wishlist. I totally heart this site.

I think that’s enough about flogs for one day. Tomorrow I will be posting my favorite design spots! Aren’t you excited? Happy flogging everyone!!!

Entry filed under: Blogs & Blogging, Food, Writers + Writing.

Blogs, Friends, & Friends’ Blogs Design is my Density

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monica  |  May 30, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    I wish i had been a foodie from day 1. I have only recently begun to truly appreciate food and the art of food. I have only been in Chicago 9 monthes, but I have tried to explore the food scene here. It is absolutely incredible. I am from SD, so you can imagine my food experience has been quite limited. Yay for good food, and for being in a big city!!!

    Reply
  • 2. msdarby  |  June 4, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Have you ever tried Rosded in the square? I think it might be the best Thai food in all of Chicago, which is quite a statement, being that there are 4 within the one block radius of Rosded alone. Seriously, though…I am not sure that they make the specific Spicy Basil Leaves with Chicken, but DO check them out. They are also a BYO place, which I love. They are right across from the Western brown line stop parking lot, towards the actual square fountain. Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 3. bigdaddyseashell  |  June 4, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    I have never tried Rosded & will do so. The wonderful thing about Spoon Thai is occaisionally, we get the best delivery guy ever! When we answer the buzzer, he says in a real excited voice: “Delicious Thai Food Delivery!!!!” Casey & I totally crack up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

" Multicolor "

La Reine des iles Lofoten

Great Gray Owl / Chouette Lapone / Strix nebulosa

More Photos
May 2007
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


