“Some Folks are Born, Made to Wave the Flag…”

June 15, 2010 at 4:51 pm 4 comments

So sang John Fogerty in one of my favorite Creedence Clearwater Revival songs, Fortunate Son.  Of course he was referring to our good ol’ red, white & blue.  And while I get a stirring of patriotism stirring in my heart every time I see the stars & stripes, the American flag is not my favorite.   Let me say that I would NEVER burn a flag unless it was severely old & weather damaged, I ALWAYS stand for the National Anthem, & I am very proud to be an American.  It’s just that other countries flags to me are so beautiful.  I get a little jealous during the Olympics or World Cup when I see some the designs these other nations are sporting on their patriotic symbols.  Let’s take a look at some of my favorites, shall we?

Wales

The Welsh flag has always been my favorite.  I love that red dragon, or as it’s known in Welsh, Y Ddraig Goch.  It’s a powerful image on the bands of green & white.

Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan, besides unwittingly inspiring a great character in Borat, also gives us this beautiful flag.  I am deeply enamored of the image of the bird flying in front of the sun, the ornate stripe on the left, & I just adore the colors of this flag.  I am thinking of using this color combination in a room someday.  I just love it!

Marshall Islands

This one, from the Marshall Islands is simple, but striking to me.  I am drawn to the widening diagonal stripe heading to the corner & the star on the opposite corner.  They chose a great blue for their flag!

Albania

Albania has a simple color combination, but a features a powerful image of a two-headed eagle in the center.

Argentina

My final favorite is Argentina.  I don’t really know why, as I am usually not on board the powder blue train.  I think it has something to do with the combination of the stripes & that sun in the middle.  I have a thing for that sun.

At any rate, I find flags inspiring, not only in color & design, but what they represent.  I like thinking of someday seeing these flags in person, flying over a building in the home country they represent.

Entry filed under: Art + Artist, Blogs & Blogging, Design, Memoriam, Politics, Random, Sports. Tags: .

Stanley Cup!!! William Eggleston

4 Comments Add your own

  • [...] the original post here:  “Some Folks are Born, Made to Wave the Flag…” « Big Daddy Seashell Share and [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Kathy Pentland  |  June 16, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Very interesting. Beautiful flags! I think you are on a light blue love, as I notice.

    Reply
  • 3. Manuela  |  June 16, 2010 at 2:52 am

    Hi! i liked what you wrote about Argentina’s flag, cause is a beautiful image and what represents too. I’m from Argentina and i see it every day, but more frecuently these days because it’s celebrating the mundial and the bicentennial as a country.
    Regards! :)

    Reply
  • 4. bill pentland  |  June 21, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    A lot of people died so that our flag can look just the way it does. It’s a griffin, not a dragon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

More Photos
June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

